NESSCI is located in the eastern foothills of Adelaide, 2 km east of the Tea Tree Gully Hotel, on one of the more historic sites in the State. The pistol and rifle ranges at the western end of the property are nestled in the Glen Ewin Quarries, opened in 1856, from which sandstone was derived for construction of parts of the Adelaide GPO, Town Hall, St Peters Cathedral, St Francis Xavier Cathedral, Flinders St Baptist Church, and other notable buildings in Adelaide. A pottery clay pit on the eastern end of the property, opened in 1927 but closed a few years later during the Great Depression, now houses a modern 50 m pistol range.
The hilly and partly wooded 20 hectare property was used originally by the Mayne Nickless security company as a training area for its armed guards, and as a company pistol club, in the early 1960s. The attractive setting and easy access soon interested family and friends and, in 1979, the North Eastern and Security Shooting Club was incorporated. The name was changed to North Eastern Sports Shooting Club in 2001.

The club has 100, 50 and 25 m ranges, and several smaller specialty ranges, divided between ISSF (Olympic-style) and IPSC (practical-style) disciplines. The range has SA Police accreditation for a wide variety of matches.

location

 

logo
sarpa
Affiliated with SARPA